During the Virtual Annual Meeting in November 2020, IMIA members voted to approve the new organizational structure which unites the previous regional groups of IMIA (Americas, Europe/Middle East/Africa, and Asia Pacific).
A major first step was to appoint new directors to vacant board seats which was completed and voted on by the remaining voting board members. With the exception of a few previous directors who are extending their term for a year, these will be two-year positions with half of the seats rotating every year and requiring membership approval moving forward. We are pleased to introduce our new IMIA Board of Directors.
  • Mark Cygan, ESRI
  • Bridger DeVille, Benchmark Maps
  • Vivian Godfrey, Edward Stanford Group Limited
  • Thierry Jaccoud, GeoJunxion (formerly AND)
  • Dave Knipfer, Mapping Specialists
  • Greg Lauer, East View Geospatial
  • Dave McIlhagga, MapSherpa
  • Hans Neimeyer, INTERKART GmbH
  • Mani Singh, NextByte Technologies
Bennett Moe of Headwall Media (immediate past president) and Dan Ortiz of National Geographic Maps will both continue as Advisory Board Members (non-voting). The first Board of Directors meeting will be January 26, 2021. Dave McIlhagga will begin his final year as IMIA President and other officer positions will be voted on during the meeting.
Also the board will appoint chair positions for several committees including Events, Marketing, Membership and more. These chairs will then begin recruitment from membership to fill committee seats. As in the past, committee involvement will include periodical strategy and planning sessions and provide opportunities to engage with peers and make new connections. If you are interested in committee involvement, please email info@imiamaps.org.